Green Smoothie!

Lately I have been having fun making all kinds of smoothies. Usually I just throw some combination of fruits/veggies together, but today I came up with a green smoothie that I find completely delicious. Most green smoothies are a little too “green” for me, but this one is fab:

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup kefir (or yogurt)
  • 2 nectarines
  • 1 banana
  • handful or so of kale/spinach/whatever greens on hand
  • 2 or 3 ice cubes

Blend until smooth and you’re set! I just throw mine together in my Vitamix and it turns out perfectly. This makes 2 pretty big servings- I estimated the amounts of water & kefir because I don’t really measure, I just eyeball it.

Usually I start throwing stuff together when I have fruits that are getting overripe, and since I had 2 nectarines that were too soft I used those. Previously I have done a similar recipe using either peaches, pears, plums, apricots, blueberries, or strawberries. You can certainly use frozen fruits if you have those on hand, but it’s so much more delicious with fresh!

Leave a Reply

