Frugal Mommy

Hubby and I are getting more serious about saving for a home. We set a goal for next summer, and we are hoping that we can significantly increase the amount of money that we are saving each month. As such, we are going to make some drastic changes in how we are currently living (aka I am going to have to make drastic changes because I am a recovering shopping addict.)

I have a shopping problem. There, I said it. I have the kind of shopping problem that is not proportionate to the amount that I have to spend. I need to get my act together. This is hard to do, because shopping is my “fun” activity. Shopping is my therapy. So, I need to make big changes. I am the first to admit that I do a lot of spending that I don’t *need* to do. Frequently I treat myself to a new lipstick, lotion, hair mask, nail polish, etc. Now, this isn’t that big of a deal, but I do it so frequently that I am spending way too much on these little treats for myself. This is one of my major shortcomings, and I’m trying to be transparent here.

So, I’m on a quest to get started with frugal living. Maybe I’m a little late to the game but I have to start sometime. My new project is to do some research and get some ideas. Here are things that I know for sure I have to get started doing:

1. Meal planning and home cooking- I do cook most of our meals at home and make general menu plans, but sometimes I just don’t feel like making dinner and we order out. This is fine to do infrequently, but lately we have been doing a lot of ordering out. Menu planning is at least something I know how to do, so it won’t be hard to do it more consistently. I’m not necessarily great with having a set meal that I *have* to make each day, so I try to compile a list for each week and then decide each day what I feel like making.

2. Stop buying things I don’t need- This sounds totally ridiculous and obvious but it’s really something I need to work on. I have to stop using shopping as my relaxation time. I need to only go to stores when I need something, and only go to the places in the store that I need something from (aka not peruse the makeup section.)

3. Buy used when I can and rediscover what we have. Buying used is totally new to me, but something that is worthwhile implementing. I am pretty good about shopping my own belongings when it comes to decorating and the like, and it’s amazing how you can change up your decor by just shifting things around.

4. Get on a cash system- this will be REALLY HARD for me to do, because I will be directly confronted with all of the unnecessary buying that I do mentioned above. There are tons of resources for this online, and many people are taken with the Dave Ramsey system and I’m looking into it.

Is anyone awesome at saving money? Is anyone else making changes towards a more frugal lifestyle? If so I would love your comments, suggestions, must-have resources, etc.

Thanks for listening,

Mommy

Leave a Reply

