If you disagree with me, you’re an idiot

I am SO TIRED of all of the current arguments buzzing around the internet. SAHMs vs working moms, the HHS mandate, the same-sex marriage debate, breastfeeding toddlers, etc. I really need to stop reading the comments on these hot-button topics because I always end up really mad afterwards because of all of the hate.

Without fail, if you are a SAHM, or you believe that religious institutions should not be forced to pay for abortions and birth control for employees, or you do not believe that marriage should be redefined to include same-sex marriage, YOU ARE JUST AN IDIOT according to most people. Because of course, nobody with any remote intelligence can believe those things.

I think that people label others like this because they cannot be faced with the fact that someone disagrees with them. Pretty much everyone thinks that they themselves are smart. And if “I” and smart and “you” disagree with me, you must be dumb because I am smart. Is this a self-esteem thing? It is natural to want others to agree with you, but if you want to sharpen your intellect don’t you want to tackle a disagreement (in a logical and respectful way) instead of shutting it down with a “you’re stupid” elementary school comment?  The religion of superiority is ugly.

And I don’t know why the name-calling and hatred upsets me so much. I guess because I really consider other people’s feelings and it bothers me that I don’t think that same-sex couples should be included in the definition of “marriage.” Because I think about how it must make them feel- to be really in love and be told that you cannot share the same kind of union that heterosexual couples can. However, I can’t let my concerns for people’s feelings impact what is the natural outflow from my religious belief. I do believe that same-sex couples should be granted rights related to tax exemptions, inheritance, etc. but I don’t think that redefining marriage is the right way to achieve this.

Because sometimes (actually often!) the right thing is the unpopular thing. Which of course, if a REALLY unpopular thing to say. Now there is no right or wrong. Moral relativism is what’s hot and you look like some kind of religious psycho if you disagree. After all, 98% of Catholic women have at some point  in their lives used birth control (ugh) so you just need to face reality. Because you know, if 98% of people started stealing things it would be okay for everyone else to do so.

This post is so disjointed and I’m sorry about that, but it’s hard for me to articulate my feelings on these subjects. Perhaps it is because there are so many hateful voices out there on both sides, and it seems that those voices are the loudest. And there are a lot of people out there who are way smarter than me who can articulate them well. In general I am a sensitive person and I hate to feel like I am hurting others by my words or actions. I don’t feel like I can separate my religious beliefs from my political beliefs because my religion impacts every area of my life. I’m not just a Catholic in church, you know.  A quote from C.S. Lewis seems most appropriate here, “If you want a religion to make you feel really comfortable, I certainly don’t suggest Christianity.”

Thanks for listening,

Mommy

Leave a Reply

