Simplifying- the new hotness, but I need to do it!

Simplifying. Ugh. You hear about it everywhere. Simplifying is the new hot thing to do. Owning fewer possessions and having less clutter will lead to inner peace. You will be able to do whatever you dream of because you will spend less time cleaning up. You will become a guru of simplification and people will come from far and wide to admire your pared-down home and lifestyle.

Generally when I hear about these kinds of things I am annoyed, because those who suggest it usually act like it is the cure-all for your life. However, in this case I think it might be for me. I have been praying a lot because I am overwhelmed with this house and this move. Although I wrote my last post about moving with baby, we still are not completely unpacked. I haven’t even set up the guest room, and our garage is full of boxes. The process is so daunting that I don’t know where to begin.

Every once in a while I wonder, “where is the…? oh, it must be in the garage,” but that doesn’t happen very often. So I’m curious, what IS in there? Why do I own all of these superfluous things that I don’t use? (Aside from holiday decorations, which I admit I’m a sucker for and I do consider essential :), I need to streamline what we have in there.)

So, I have decided to start the simplification process. At this point I’m still not sure what that is going to look like for me, but I plan on praying about it and figuring out what I need to do. I have to admit, I think there’s something to it. I want time to really invest in my family in important, tangible ways. Don’t get me wrong, I think that keeping a nice house is a large part of that. Having a pleasant home to spend time in together is important. Being surrounded by clutter affects both my husband’s and my mood. But I think I need to find a way to spend less time sorting through clutter so I can focus on my family in other ways.

I am hoping to come up with a true, practical guide for simplifying your home from step one. Please stay tuned!

Thanks for listening,

Mommy

p.s. Most blogs I read put things differently. They are written as “I decided that I need to simplify, so I will do X,Y, and Z.” I get frustrated with that because I am a process person. I like to know how you came up with that process and those goals, because that way I can figure out how to adapt it to me. So, I’m writing a post like this because I like reading these kinds of posts. Please feel free to comment and tell me if I should skip this kind of post, and just go to the X, Y, Z post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

